top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Elizabeth Johnson

The Perks of Being Involved


  Let's begin this blog post with some credibility. I am Cottonwood High School's SBO Communications, the President of Cottonwood's Hiking Society, FCCLA President, Bowling Club's Vice President (lol), a member of the Student Conservation Alliance, a member of the book club, a member of Backyard Broadcast, a member of Theatre Society, a member of DECA, an officer of Makeup Club, a member of service club, a member of National Honors Society, on the Debate team, the Keys To Success Rep at Cottonwood & I am on the Girls Golf Team.

  Those are all things that I am currently involved in. Not to mention the things I've done before. I was a Cottonwood Cheerleader for 2 years, in Jr. High I was Coding Club President, Debate Secretary, Captain of the Track & Field team and the Peer Leadership Team Historian just to name a few. 😅😂

  The perks of being involved. Yes, this does mean that you'll be busy BUT it is worth it! I have made and am making so many life long friends! Also, everything you do outside of school looks wonderful on a college application & resume. You and another person could be exactly the same in every way but you were a member of art club, you're more likely to get in and have a scholarship for that subject. 

  By doing all of these things I've become an increasingly social person! My style and the way I present myself is different. The people I have surrounded myself with are the kind of people who have the same goals to graduate and eventually be a successful person in society. 

  Maybe there is not a club for you? Make one! I single handedly founded the Hiking Society at my high school. I know that there aren't many people who enjoy a nice hike like I do & through this I have found people who do! It may be a small number but they are people I might not have met otherwise. :)

  Involvement is difficult. I know. My best friend since elementary was very anti-social and hated being around anyone other than me and her family so I did many things alone. This taught me how to talk to people more so I didn't feel like I was by myself. Soon enough (after getting her to be more involved) she came out of her shell and she is now on Choir Counsel and has a very kind boyfriend! 


  Anyone can do anything & It is a great day to have a great day. 

Love,

Gracie Beth ❤️

44 views

Recent Posts

See All

How to Deal With Unnecessary Anger & Sadness

Everyone gets angry. Yes, everyone. Even the sweet little old lady you saw at church last week. And yes, everyone gets a little sad BUT YOU CANNOT LET A STUPID EMOTION LIKE THAT HARSH YOUR VIBE! 🤗💕

bottom of page