top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Elizabeth Johnson

Embroidery is Finger Stabbin' Fun!


  This is a short & sweet compilation of a few of my embroidery experiences. (And some pictures of course) 


  Cacti are my muse. (Mainly because they are extremely easy to make compared to flowers or animals).  Haha

  • Just keeping you aware: I know it's trash. 

  In all honesty, embroidery is super fun! Besides the constant needle finger poking, mis-stitches, project ruining knots & the face of a person who thinks you're a grandmother for embroidering. Other than that it's great. 😅😐 


⬆️ The "Love" piece (if you can even tell that it's supposed to say that) above was from a kit. It gave me exactly how much floss I needed & etc. It looks like It'd be pretty hard, right? Because it FRIGGEN was. Holy Guacamole. It was hard and I somehow managed to have to go out and buy more floss to finish it. Also, do you notice the faint blood spots? I poked myself numerous times during this one. 

BUT

  The satisfaction of finishing a week long piece is just beyond wonderful! Wether or not it turns out like crap doesn't matter. 


  I don't know which is worse: the embroidery itself or my thumb? Yikes. ʸᵒᵘ ᶜᵘᵗ ᶦᵗ ᵃ ˡᶦᵗᵗˡᵉ ˢʰᵒʳᵗ ᵗʰᵉʳᵉ ᴳʳᵃᶜᵉ

  Okay okay. This one isn't terrible, considering I did it in the car on the way to Youth Conference. 

  NOW. Let's talk the painful truth. Remember me mentioning that embroidering animals is hard? Well they are...


  I regret to inform you that I did indeed make this. Oh man. No bueno. 😂😂😂😂😂😂 

I'll just leave it at that. 🤢

  So this next one is my favorite. Entirely because I can show this off all the time & wear it. 


  It's nothing too exciting but still fun! Again, cacti are my favorite things to embroider. 💗🌱 

  Last but not least; the project that took me the entire 2017 summer... drum roll please... 


  I embroidered 9 hats for all the SBOs and our advisor. It was very tedious work. If you couldn't  tell, the little leaf at the back is a small Cottonwood leaf (I currently go to Cottonwood High School) 

  BAHAHAHAHAHAH you know how I said this would be "short & sweet"? I got a little carried away. :-) 

Thank you for reading. 

Sincerely,

Gracie Beth 💕 

bottom of page